Silent Hill

Silent Hill 3 image
Silent Hill is the title of a survival horror video game franchise, produced by Konami. As of 2003 there are three games available, all of which were released to strong sales and critical acclaim. The Silent Hill games are distinguished from other games in the same genre, such as Resident Evil, in that the focus is far more on character, story, and atmosphere rather than action and violence. The games' storylines unfold like that of a film, and multiple resolutions are possible depending upon what decisions the player makes during gameplay.

Silent Hill is the town in which the story is set. It has become deserted and cursed, shifting between this world and another populated by fearsome monsters. The second game in the series also suggests that the town may be a metaphorical incarnation of a person's troubled psyche, or perhaps a kind of purgatory in which a person is judged for past sins. The protagonist of the game is trapped in the town and can only escape by resolving a personal issue that has been tormenting him.

The games' visual design has come in for strong praise, depicting dark, fog-enshrouded, decaying environments enhanced by chilling sound effects.

Many fans and reviewers have referred to the Silent Hill games as the most frightening ever made.

The available games are:

  • Silent Hill (1999) for PlayStation
  • Silent Hill 2 (2001) for PlayStation 2
    • Silent Hill 2: Restless Dreams (2001) for XBox
  • Silent Hill 3 (2003) for PlayStation 2
  • Silent Hill 4: The Room (Fall 2004) for PlayStation 2 and XBox

In 2003 a film based on Silent Hill was announced, with French director Christophe Gans (The Brotherhood of the Wolf) attached.

External links:

copyright 2004