The Final Cut

The Final Cut is a rock album by Pink Floyd recorded at several studios in the UK from July to December 1982. The LP was released in the UK on March 21, 1983 and then in the US on April 2. The Final Cut reached #1 on the UK album charts and #6 in the US. On May 23, 1983, The Final Cut went Gold and Platinum and then Double Platinum on January 31, 1997.

Originally scheduled as the film soundtack for the band's movie The Wall, it evolved into a new concept album, railing against war.

Not Now John was released as a single (with the chorus' "fuck all that" overdubbed as "stuff all that"), backed by an extended version of The Hero's Return. There was also a video EP, with film accompaniment for four of the songs.

In 1986, the album was released on CD. A digitally re-mastered CD was released in 1994.


  • David Gilmour - guitar and vocals
  • Roger Waters - guitar and vocals
  • Nick Mason - drums
  • Michael Kamen - piano harmonium
  • Andy Brown - hammond organ
  • Ray Cooper - percussion
  • Andy Newmark - drums on "Two Suns..."
  • Raphael Ravenscroft - tenor sax
  • The National Philharmonic Orchestra conducted and arranged by Michael Kamen

Track Listing

  1. The Post War Dream
  2. Your Possible Pasts
  3. One Of The Few
  4. The Hero's Return
  5. The Gunner's Dream
  6. Paranoid Eyes
  7. Get Your Filthy Hands Off My Desert
  8. The Fletcher Memorial Home
  9. Southampton Dock
  10. The Final Cut
  11. Not Now John
  12. Two Suns In The Sunset

copyright 2004