University of Nevada, Reno

The University of Nevada at Reno is a university that is located in Reno, Nevada and is known for its programs in agricultural research, animal biotechnology, and mining-related natural sciences. It was originally founded in Elko, Nevada in 1874 as a small, makeshift prep school that really could not be considered a true university. In 1887, the fledgling institution was moved, brick by brick, from Elko to its current home in Reno.

After several decades of struggling to implement requirements of federal Morrill land-grant legislation, the university made large strides toward becoming the modern institution it is today with the opening of the Desert Research Institute in 1960 and a medical school in 1967. The University of Nevada, Reno remained the only four-year academic institution in the state of Nevada until 1965, when the current-day University of Nevada, Las Vegas attained university status as Nevada Southern University.

Bachelors, master's, and doctoral programs are offered through the College of Agriculture, Biotechnology, and Natural Resources; the College of Arts & Science; the College of Business Administration; the College of Education; the College of Engineering; the College of Extended Studies; the College of Human and Community Sciences; the Graduate School; the Mackay School of Mines; the Reynolds School of Journalism; and the School of Medicine.

The University of Nevada, Reno campus is located on top of a large hill north of downtown Reno overlooking Truckee Meadows. The school's sports teams are called the Wolfpack. They participate in the NCAA's Division I-A and in the Western Athletic Conference.

External Link

copyright 2004